Skip to content

Online Social Media: Taming the Beast for the Classroom Part I

December 3, 2010

An interesting article from the Huffington post, written by Dr. Jeffrey H. Toney, a “scientist whose career has spanned academia and the pharmaceutical industry. He serves as the dean of the College of Natural, Applied and Health Sciences at Kean University in Union, New Jersey.”

Toney writes, “My office is often a flurry of activity with students coming with a wide array of questions. Whenever possible, I respond to their questions via email. Last Fall, one of our students expressed dismay when I told her I would respond to her request with an email.

“Email, Dr. Toney? That’s so old fashioned.”

After some thought, I realized she was right. After all, I sent my first email message sometime before the class of 2014 was born (in the early to mid 1990’s), so it should be no surprise that this form of communication could be seen as quaint. More…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

